We will be out of the shop until Tuesday, March 12th. Shipping and in-store pickup will resume at that time. Thank you for your patience!

Shopping cart

Your cart is currently empty

Product image slideshow Items

  • Penguin Group Cotton - The Biography of a Revolutionary Fiber

Cotton - The Biography of a Revolutionary Fiber

Author: Yafa, Stephen
$7.00
Excl. tax

In the tradition of Mark Kurlansky's Cod and Salt, this endlessly revealing book reminds us that the fiber we think of as ordinary is the world's most powerful cash crop, and that it has shaped the destiny of nations

In stock

In the tradition of Mark Kurlansky's Cod and Salt, this endlessly revealing book reminds us that the fiber we think of as ordinary is the world's most powerful cash crop, and that it has shaped the destiny of nations. Ranging from its domestication 5,500 years ago to its influence in creating Calvin Klein's empire and the Gap, Stephen Yafa's Cotton gives us an intimate look at the plant that fooled Columbus into thinking he'd reached India, that helped start the Industrial Revolution as well as the American Civil War, and that made at least one bug--the boll weevil--world famous. A sweeping chronicle of ingenuity, greed, conflict, and opportunism, Cotton offers a barrage of fascinating information (Los Angeles Times).

Condition Very Good
Format Trade Paperback
New or Used Used